To Edwin Encarnacion

On December 22, 2o16 at 9:00pm, Edwin Encarnacion signed a 3 year/$60 million (plus an option) with the Cleveland Indians. Practically the same contract that the Blue Jays offered him weeks ago that his agent denied.

Edwin Encarnacion was one of the most consistent and memorable Blue Jays of all time, and it is very hard to seem him go. From hitting over 30+ home runs for the Blue Jays for the past five years, to being the 2016 playoff hero. He will be greatly missed.

My favourite Edwin Encarnacion moment happened in the 2015 season, when Edwin hit 3 home runs in one game on Saturday August 29. I personally will never forget that moment. It felt like a fairy tale, and it was one of the main pieces of the Jays making the playoffs for the first time since 1993.

But how can any of us forget the Wild Card game that ultimately changed the 2016 post season. I will never forget that moment either. With one hit, we were heading back to the playoffs for the second straight year. I screamed my head off with that one. My dad fell asleep and my mom said that no matter what happened that night, we both had to be quiet. But after that home run, all rules were thrown out the window. I’m surprised the whole world didn’t hear me!

This contract shows that everyone makes mistakes. I am not feeling sour directly to Edwin himself, but mostly his agent Paul Kinzner. I know more than half of you probably came to terms with this when both Morales and Pearce were signed weeks ago. And believe me, I am definitely not blaming the Toronto Blue Jays front office for this one either. They ultimately gave him the best contract, but he wasn’t ready to sign it yet. But, I always had a glimpse of “What if?”, although there was no way that was going to happen from the beginning. I guess this was just an unfortunate mistake, and I am sure Edwin is feeling that too. I for one hope he fires Mr. Kinzner right away, he deserved a better agent than this. Kinzner should have realized that teams are looking for speed, lefty’s and youth, non of those adjectives fall next to the name Edwin Encarnacion. However, we have to realize that this is not about the fans, this is a business. No real blame should be put on either sides, although you have to let me be sour for a day.

So Eddie, I’d like to thank you for the good times, the smiles, the laughs, the bombs, and most of all… the parrot.

Best wishes always.

Love your friend,

Alyssa Cohen

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

